-Blog Post- Was that in your client’s best interest??? Are you sure??? lol

Money or Sleep?

Shhhhhhh… I’m going to talk about DUAL AGENCY! hahaha.  All jokes aside, dual agency is a general practice, at least in the state of Pennsylvania.  It is legal, it is ethical(by the states standards), and it can be very profitable….that is, if you don’t get sued because of it.  Not sure what the other 49 state policies are, but what is yours on a personal level?  How do you feel about the topic?  Paragraph 2 is going to be my little soapbox so brace yourselves….

Loyalty, confidentiality, and a good faith effort to get you the most amount of money with the least amount of inconvenience Mr. & Mrs/Miss/Ms. seller.  That’s what I am going to do for you.  Wait, I have the buyer here….Mr. & Mrs./Miss/Ms. buyer I promise you loyalty, confidentiality, and a good faith effort to get you the most amount of house for the lowest price humanly possible, that’s what I am going to do for you!  Uh oh, if I do one of these can I really do the other?

29 yrs old and into my 9th year practicing real estate in the wonderful Lehigh Valley region of Pennsylvania.  Dual agency can bring a nice paycheck. In times like these, I can see why people are doing it, due to the low number of transactions. But does anyone else have a problem acting as a dual agent?  I have done it a few times before and it was either with an investor, who of course knew more than me anyway,  so my negotiation suggestions were disregarded(hint of sarcasm), or with an attorney involved where again, my suggestions meant nothing.  Even then, I felt a little slimey in the end.  Agents are more than welcome to practice this way with proper disclosure to both parties, but does that make it right?  I guess if everyone is happy in the end you have done your job, but don’t you feel like you could have done more for one party if you represented them solely?  How did you purchase your home(s) prior to being a practitioner?  Would you have wanted your agent to take care of both sides?

I’m not sure if I’m looking for these questions to be answered by all or not, but it should make you think.  Just because the economy is a bit rough, does that give you the right to lower your representation?  Agents across the country,  let me know what your states do and how you feel about it.  Also, for the public readers I would love to know your thoughts and if it makes you feel any different about one style or the other.  I hope everyone has a great weekend and truly look forward to reading your comments.

Respectfully,

Frank J. Renaldi
Realtor
License # RS278600

Century 21 Pinnacle
3001 Emrick Blvd., Suite 300
Bethlehem, Pa 18020
Website: http://www.FrankRenaldi.com
Office #: 610-691-0535 *7145
Direct # 484-893-7145
Fax #: 610-691-1277
Cell #: 484-788-8682

Leave a Reply

